Starting my career at 38 years old

Hi everyone!

I’m a 38-year-old accountant with many years of life experience. I’ve always loved flying and regional aircraft. Finally last year, I had the opportunity to do a few discovery flights and it was my best life experience. Since then, I’ve been seriously considering pursuing my dream of becoming a regional or private jet pilot.

As I’m sure many of you can relate, my two main challenges in this transition are my age and finances I have a mortgage and living expenses, which have been significantly impacted by inflation, are quite high. I do not have any children but have about $15,000 in savings and approximately $50,000 locked in my 401K. While I’ve been diligently preparing, I worry about the financial strain it may put on me, especially considering it might be a while before I start earning a steady income as a pilot.

I am currently working 30 hours per week remotely, which will allow me 10-15 hours for flight academy school and accumulating hours.

I’m reaching out to inquire about any advice or recommendations regarding financing options for flight school. Are there grants or loans available for early 40-year individuals who are looking to pursue their careers a pilot while managing their financial responsibilities?

Also, what kind of flight positions can I work, earn some money, and accumulate flight hours? Average how much will I make per hour? Will it allow me to cover my expenses?

Any insights, personal experiences, or advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you all in advance for your support and guidance.

David,