Two failed evals, will I be removed from program?

Hello all,

I am a fast track student who started June 21. Tomorrow is my pre-solo evaluation and I am quite worried. It took me two tries to pass the TOL eval as I struggled some with landings and I seem to have taken a step back on the last two flights (especially with crosswind). My pattern looks great, I just struggle with the last twenty feet or so. If I fail the eval tomorrow will I be removed from the program? I’ve read that it could happen and I know I’ll have to speak with my TSS (and possibly TSM). I’ll also note that, despite failing an eval, I am only one day behind in the program. I want nothing more than to stay and make my dream a reality, but I am concerned. I know ATP stresses that they honor your investment and don’t want you “wasting your money”, but I am completely fine with any overage fees that may incur. Especially considering that I am roughly $14k in debt at this point with 48 hours of training and may have to start from scratch at another school.

Lastly, I feel like someone may reply and say, “Well you may not be cut out for this. The airlines are fast-paced as well and if you can’t keep up here, you will struggle there as well.” I totally understand that, but it really is just the landings and I don’t feel I am far off. This wasn’t the start I was hoping for to say the least, and maybe I’m just being delusional… what do y’all think? Do I still have a shot at remaining in the program with two “UNSAT” evals? Thanks!

Matthew,

“Just” the landings? The landings are kind of a big deal don’t you think? I mean you can pretty much grab anyone off the street, sit them up front and talk them through an entire flight, it’s those last “20 feet” when things get interesting. Not trying to discourage you, nor am I saying “you’re not cut out for this” but let’s also acknowledge the landings are in fact a pretty big deal.