Unsure which route to take

Hello, I’m Chris.
I am new to this site but I have liked all the information I have gained this far! I wanted to get some questions out there for myself. But first, a little about me… I am a 24yr old graduate from University of North Texas. While there I earned my marketing and finance degrees in undergrad, and MBA in business administration as well. Currently I am starting out with 0 flight time/ experience.

Here is where I need advice - I am unsure what path/school is best for me. I have heard of ATP and Thrust flight school which are both located nearby me (I reside in Plano). I have also looked into the Air Force reserve, but have done little research into each one. I was hoping to get educated in the pros/cons and differences of each of the three routes I am entertaining. I do have some debt from student living loans, and vehicle debt as well.

Chris,

As you stated, you’ve done little research. You need to start there. There’s a lot of valuable information about all of the options that you’re considering on this forum and online. Part of figuring out which is right for you is by making the comparisons yourself.

Short answer, there’s ATP, ATP copycats, small mom and pop schools, aviation colleges, and military.

Frankly military shouldn’t even be on that list unless your number one reason is to serve. So, now it’s just a matter of how quickly you want to finish your training, how much you want to pay, how you plan to build your flight time, and then comparing each school against the other.

What’s their fleet like? Safety record? Cost? Extra costs? Unexpected costs? Success rate? What’s their maintenance setup like? Ratings offered?

Once you’ve done some more research on the routes you’re most interested in, if you’re still struggling we’re here to help. We touch on these topics in our FAQ section.