What should I do to get started on my own?

Because I have no experience and 0 knowledge about aviation I was wondering if there are any books out there that I can read so it can give me that start to becoming a pilot. I’ve looked online and I see people recommend “pilot’s handbook of aeronautical knowledge.” Is that a good start or are there any other books out there that are better?

David,

There’s tons of good reading online and I too recommend the PHAK. It’s part of the FAAs library and it’s available online for free (see the link below, I also like the Airplane Flying Handbook). https://www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/handbooks_manuals/aviation/

That said there’s only so much you can get from a book. Again I’m going to recommend you take a flight.

Adam

For sure thanks! I know it wont do too much but I’m just so eager to get started and learn. And yes, I’m soon going to take a discovery flight. I mean I think that’s what you mean though when you say you recommend a flight.

That’s exactly what I mean and here’s my warning/advice regarding the flight. It’s called a Discovery or Intro flight for a reason. It’s not a test nor are you expected to know anything. It’s simply to introduce you to the world of general aviation which is very different (as you’ll see) from flying in the back of a Boeing. Go up relax and enjoy. No pressure. Too many people come on this forum afterwards saying “OMG! I just had my intro flight and I didn’t understand EVERYTHING that was going on and I didn’t fly like Tom Cruise in Top Gun! Is my career over?!?!”.

Pilots are not born, they’re made and these are not innate skills. They must be learned. Make sense?

Adam

Makes complete sense. I appreciate your time and advice. I’m not going to lie, I was a bit nervous. But you helped me accomplish that insecurity of not knowing or learning anything afterwards. Thank you for your professionalism.