Where to begin?

I read through some the the frequently asked questions and took a look at a “week in the life”… I was looking to start a program and begin my pilot career as soon as possible.

My background: currently I’m self employed as a commercial real estate broker in CT. I am looking to pivot in my career to something I am more passionate about.

I have finances to cover schooling and look forward to leveraging my school with ATP to work for a major airline in my future as a pilot.

Please help me with next steps and where I should look to sign up.

Thank you in advance for your help, and I look forward to learning more

Best,
Ian Rawlinson
(203) 560-5548

Adam

Ian,

Adam posted where you can find information.

One question for you that I didn’t find here, do you have any flight experience? And we’re not talking about X-Plane or Microsoft Flight Simulator.

Brady

I have zero flight experience at this time. However, I’m looking to gain experience as soon as possible.

I will look at Adams post, thank you!

Please keep me updated on any next steps.

Best,

Ian,

Then you NEED to take a few Introductory Flights at either your local flight school and an Admissions Flight with ATP (if your goal is to attend at ATP). Flying is a different feeling and being in control of an airplane is different.

Brady

I will set up my introductory flight immediately and Danbury flight school and get back to you once I have completed it.

Thank you,

Does 30 minute introductory flight work? Or do I need more time like 1 hour+ on an intro flight?

Please advise,

Id highly recommend an hour becuase that time is measured by the hobbs meter, ie, the whole time the aircraft is powered up. Between checklists, taxiing out and back in and other misc things, a half hour is only gonna leave you 10, maybe 15 min of flight, enough for a couple laps of the pattern.