Working Internationally

This is a exceptional resource, I have spent a lot of time reading through many threads which I have questions about so thank you!

I have a couple of nuances to my life which I would like to see I could get some help with.

Background:
I am a 34 years old, I have been a professional athlete for the last 10 years which is why I am a little late to the party. I have read a lot about age and seniority but hoping 20+ years left in the game, would still allow time to climb the ranks? I am originally from the UK and hold a US Green Card.

My question is I would like to eventually live back in the UK. But all of my resources are still here in the US.

If I did a full time training program in the US, would I then be able to get a job in the UK to gain experience or would I have to gain all my flight time and experience in the US?

Are there specific enrollment dates to the ATP courses? and it the full-time training course a 9-5, 5 days a week program?

Is the ATP location I select a significant factor? For example are some busier than others giving a better opportunity to acquire flight hours quickly?

Thanks so much

1 Like

Rachel,

Great questions so let’s dive in…

The number one issue you if you want to fly in the UK (or anywhere in Europe) is the licensing process is very different in the US and you would need to convert your licenses to fly there. The biggest difference is the EASA requires 14 exams that are quite extensive. My understanding is not only are they very challenging but they’re also very expensive. This is why you find many European pilots in the US and not the other way around. Short answer is if you want to fly for a UK airline you’re better off training there. Keep in mind pilots in the US are much better paid and have better work rules due to our unions.