Zero to 1500 with ATP - My Experience

Hey Everyone!

It’s been a long time since I posted about my experience on here, so I thought I would provide an update on my time with ATP. Thursday, 11/17/22, was my last day as an instructor with ATP. I started and finished out my instructing time at ATP’s location at Cincinnati-Lunken Airport, working as the lead instructor for a majority of my time and, beyond early summer 2022, I also served as our locations multiengine instructor. I initially had no intention of finishing all of my flight time at the Cincinnati location, but I really enjoyed the students, my fellow instructors, the airspace, tower controllers, FBO and ramp staff, and more. In the end, I felt that this location was a great (safe) training environment and an excellent location to build hours and teach people to fly!

Flight Time Summary

Here is a brief summary of my flight time as an instructor with ATP (for those who are curious!):

Overall, as an instructor I averaged around 70 hours a month. During the winter the hours dropped, but you can see by the end of this summer I was averaging around 100+ hours per month (August being an outlier because I took two weeks off to visit family abroad). These numbers also reflect the increase in training and program enrollment post-COVID for ATP. When I started in Cincinnati, there were only 2 instructors and around 6 students, but by the end of my time here, we were averaging enrollment of around 20-30 students, with the need for 8-10 instructors. So the location grew significantly during my time!