Am I too old to begin a career in aviation as a commercial pilot

Hey there! I’m a 31 years old engineer. I’ve been passionate about aviation and flying airplanes since I was a kid. A recent break from work gave me a lot of time to think if I should switch career and become an airline pilot.

I’ve already started studying for the FAA knowledge test and intend to take flying lessons to earn my private pilot license in the next couple of months. My plan is to get my PPL, fly in free time to build some hours and after about a year, quit my job and join a school like ATP to earn additional ratings and work towards becoming a commercial pilot.

The question that keeps bothering me is “Am I too old to be starting a career in aviation?” Keep in mind, I probably won’t earn necessary ratings before I turn 32. Since seniority is everything in aviation, I’m wondering if I’ll ever have a chance at career progression if I become a commercial pilot.

I’d highly appreciate your thoughts.

Shreyas,

This question gets asked daily but it’s usually from people in their 40s and 50s. At 31 you’re nowhere near too old. In fact the average age when people start training is 33.

Feel free to ask any other questions you have and I recommend you visit our FAQ section where we discuss this and many other common questions.

Adam

Shreyas,

You are definitely not too old, far from it. Please check out the FAQ section as it has a detailed post on this topic.

Chris

Shreyas,
Agree, definitely not too old. You said this has been a dream of yours, have you been up in a small plane before? We recommend you take a discovery flight somewhere first and secure a first class medical before you start taking your written exams. If both of those go well, absolutely start your writtens. Browse the forum here, as we have a ton of common questions answered in detail.

-Hannah