AME question

Hello senior pilots and all pilots that are in training I have a question I’d like to ask regarding my medical.

I am a military veteran with an honorable discharge, recently I’ve taken an interest in flying & I want to inquire about pursuing a career with a commercial airline.

I receive a disability check from the VA for alcohol use disorder and I am concerned that I will be automatically disqualified if I take that medical exam.

For the record, I don’t have any DUIs, nor have I ever had to call out of work because I’ve overindulged irresponsibly. And the only reason I’ve claimed it was because my leaders told me to document everything but still stinks that it’s on my record

Thanks

I’m not an expert on the subject, but I do see this advice online a lot for a variety of medical issues: schedule a consultation with an AME to discuss your specific concerns. They can help guide you in the right direction and let you know what steps you can take.

1 Like

Thank you Jeff !

1 Like

You’re welcome John! Also, if you run into problems, you can search online for an aviation medical attorney to help you navigate those challenges. You might have to shell out some coin to follow your dreams, but there are definitely attorneys who specialize in fighting medical denials.

John,

You’re right to have a concern. Question 18 on the FAA Medical application asks if you’ve EVER had any instances or history of a number of medical conditions. 18(o) is Alcohol dependence or abuse. That’s going to mean a whole lot of hoop jumping and probably money.

You need to consult with an AME (Aviation Medical Examiner) as they’re actually the only ones who can tell you what’s ahead.

Adam

John,

I recently replied to another thread posting about convictions/felonies etc., see below: