Another Career Change Post

Hey everyone, I’m new around here, I’m 32 going on 33 and I’m ready for my life long dream of aviation. I currently work as a Juvenile Corrections Officer and have had a few flight lessons which puts a huge smile on my face every time I’m up in the air. I really want to make the transition into the airlines but have a few questions.

I’m really trying to avoid ATP school due to the price of the loan and would rather use my local mom and pop instead as It would be a lot cheaper than ATP, not to mention it’s literally only a 3 minute drive from my house. Where I live aviation is huge so I have no worries about our FBO closing (I19). What are your thoughts on using mom and pop vs ATP?

With my age and wanting to get to the majors I was looking into Spirit initially because it’s supposedly only 1500 hours and then you can get on with them. My question here is should I take the traditional route and go with regional and then to the majors? Or should I just go straight for Spirit due to my age? I don’t care if Spirit pays less than the others.

As far as after I get my ratings, would it be better for time building to go with a part 135 gig with 500 hours or just flight instruct until I reach the minimums?

I do not have my degree yet but after I get my ratings I plan on going to WGU and doing their online work as I could get my bachelors degree in less than a year because I’m very knowledgeable in the Computer Science field.

Any advice would be wonderful.

David,

If you know this is another “career path change” post, then you’ve spent some time on this forum and you should know this is ATPs forum and aren’t fans of the mom and pop route. This however isn’t because we’re trying to “sell” ATP. It’s because we all were exactly where you are (some of us even tried the mom and pop route) and we determined the best route is ATP.