ATP flight school or any other?

Hi, I’m currently a freshman at college and I’m majoring in psychology. I definitely want to become an airline pilot after this degree and i’m majoring in psychology just for a back up plan but I’m little bit concerned about things.

1. Do I really need a degree in aviation field or it can be any as long as I have a degree?
  2. Should I complete my degree first or I can start my training on side?
  3. Are students from ATP flight school priority of airlines? If I complete my training from any FAA approved local flight school, will I get hired after completing my training?
1 Like

Avreen,

First I need to suggest you visit our FAQ section where we answer all of these questions (and many other common ones) in detail but here are some short answers:

1. the Majors want a degree, they don’t care what the field of study is.

2. we always recommend finishing your degree first. Success in flight training is dependant on consistency which is difficult to accomplish “on the side”.

3. ATP actuality pioneered airline agreements and long before the pilot shortage ATP grads were hired with reduced minimums. Regardless of what flight school you attend you’ll have to build the required 1500hrs flight time to be hired by any airline but yes your training can be accomplished anywhere. Keep in mind many people find training at their local flight school to be a very frustrating, lengthy and expensive way to go.

Adam

Thank you so much Adam for responding. So, do you have any idea what is an average cost of full flight training?

Avreen,

Google is your friend on that one.

Tory

1 Like

Alright, thank you so much!

Avreen,

Welcome to the forums, let’s get to your questions:

1. There is zero reason to get a degree that is related to aviation, none at all. In fact we strongly recommend that you get a degree in something else so that you have that backup plan.