Aviation College vs ATP

Hey all thank you for taking time and reading this. So I’m a sophomore in high school and I want to be an airline pilot! I will be doing my ppl this winter so hopefully that will go well! But I’m wondering about the future… so I’ve been looking at different options and it seems like there are 2.

Either go to ATP get an online degree in something like business (or anything useful) and get to the airlines right at 21 or go to an aviation college like und or erau and get the 4 year degree and the flight training.

So I’m torn on what to do obviously I have time but still would like to have a plan I’ve heard the goods and bads from both sides so I’m not too sure

Ps do the airlines care if you have a degree online and not in aviation

Cullen,

First the answer is no. While the Majors want a degree (and so should you as you’re so young and should have a backup in case aviation doesn’t work out either by choice or circumstance), they neither desire nor require a degree in aviation.

Next we’re not really fans of aviation degrees. They’re expensive and again provide little or no backup.

Finally we ALWAYS recommend completing your degree first before flight training (or at least 2yrs), particularly ATP. It’s best to just stay in school since you’re already in learning mode and many find it challenging to return to school after they’re already working. Also keep in mind the program is extremely accelerated and with only HS behind you, chances are you have little experience in this type of learning environment where a tremendous amount of discipline and focus is required.

Ultimately it’s up to you and your parents but again we recommend school first, training after.

Adam

1 Like

Cullen,

Reading comprehension is very important to becoming a pilot. I answered your question above.

Adam

This was your last question.