Becoming a pilot at 52?

Hello
Id like to find out some ‘real world’ answers to my question.
I will not be offended no matter how blunt the answer(s) are!

I am a Navy vet as an aircraft tech and started flying 30 years ago. I recently picked it up again and am about to finish my ppl.

Would I be a viable candidate to any of the major airlines?
Im ok flying corporate or cargo as well, just wanted to see what my expectations should be?

Any input is highly appreciated.

David,

How old are you?

Chris

I am 52

David,

If you really want blunt Id encourage you to check any of the 864,421 threads on the subject :wink:

There’s a pilot shortage so the airlines are hiring like crazy. Even the Majors and they’re taking folks older then they ever have. The caveat of course is you’ve got to be realistic about your expectations.

You’re 52 with your PPL. If you start now with ATP that puts you at a Regional at 54ish. Get hired by a Major at 56-58 which leaves less than 10yrs of seniority to get wherever you’re going to get. If that’s cool with you then by all means but if you’re fantasizing about being a 787 Capt flying to Asia that’s not going to happen. A friend of mine is an instructor at SWA. He told me there was a 60yo newhire. While that’s great that pilot will never make Capt and knows it.

Adam

Oh Chris… (shaking my head)…

Adam

Ahhh……

The rookie mistake of not checking prior threads…

Sorry about that

No sorry, but you did ask for brutal honesty. Just trying to be accommodating :slight_smile:

Adam

Adam,

You know there’s an emoji for (shaking my head) = :man_facepalming:t2: . LOL

Brady

1 Like

And there’s an acronym… smh :woman_facepalming:

Hannah

3 Likes

And you both know there’s a reason I dislike the youth of America…

Adam

3 Likes

Hah, shame on me for not seeing the age on the title. I should have read more closely.