Commuting to ATP/Flight Training

Hi Guys,
I’ll do my best to condense the post and clarify the advice I’m seeking. I’m 41 and contemplating a career change to aviation. I’ve been hooked on flying since I was 4-5 years old and my dad let me take the controls of our 175. Fast forward several decades and dad is now a retired SWA Captain, I’m a retired firefighter and have a 5 year old and 2 year old. I have a Bachelor’s from ASU and a Master’s from Grand Canyon. I also have my PPL with just shy of 400 TT-most as PIC in complex aircraft (Bonanza and Navion). I had my instrument written done and never got the rating completed. I haven’t flown in about 10 years (since Dad retired and sold the Bonanza). My kids are amazing and my son is special needs so family relocation for flight school isn’t the best option for us, although wife and I both know relocation may need to happen for a career. I live in Tucson and ATP at Gateway/Mesa is about 1.5 hr drive. My main questions are 1) does the average day allow for an extra 3 hours of drive time? 2) does ATP have an option or parking on the ramp (considering purchasing plane to commute and help accelerate building time)? 3) is the format flexible/tailored as apprehension increases (class time increase/decrease)? I’ve also been a paramedic for 20 years having gone through an accelerated program of 60 credit hours in 6 months…fast paced learning is ingrained in me.

I also saw mentioned in another post the advice to get as many written knowledge tests done before starting…should I be working on getting knowledge tests done in addition to getting re-current?

Tons of great info in all the threads and many of my questions have already been answered!

Thanks, Heath

Heath,