Driving Record question

I was hoping I could get some help, I am an EMT currently going to school for a higher healthcare degree. I’ve always wanted to become an airline pilot, but I never thought it was a possibility. I got arrested for a dui when I was 18, and for possession of marijuana, I had to do a diversion program, and the marijuana charge was dismissed, however the dui was lowered to a reckless driving. It has never shown up on my background checks, but it does show up on my driving record. I am 27 now and haven’t had any tickets as I drive an ambulance. Would I be able to become an airline pilot? Or have I screwed up too much already?

Use the search function and you find most of these answers.
3-5yrs since conviction is usually the amount of time Regional airlines want before hiring a DUI… but yours is reckless driving. I forget what could happen over a dismissed weed charge (use search function)?

I would contact AOPA legal department and an aviation attorney before talking with an AME. (Example: If you know your BAC was over 1.5 and the AME asks that, then they may have no choice but to deny your medical pending review by FAA). And that could take over a year and thousands in fees and doctors visits

Reckless driving is another charge (like dui) that might not let you in Canada. But I’ve heard Canada’s system doesn’t see every states driving records. So another thing to ask lawyer.

The simple answer is, yes you can absolutely get to airlines and have a career. Long answer is don’t get in more trouble, and look into the process so you don’t hit any unnecessary roadblocks, and learn what one can’t be avoided.

Chris F

1 Like

EG,

While neither the FAA nor the airlines are huge fans of DUIs or marijuana use, if you’ve been “clean” since you were 18 you should be fine. Just make certain you disclose everything on your medical application.