Extracurriculars during Highschool

Hello everybody. This is my first time on the forum and I have a few questions about the road to become an airline pilot. I am a current Sophomore in Highschool and have been interested in Aviation for a long time and really want to pursue it commercially. I have realized that I should probably get some extracurriculars related to aviation in to have a better chance. Can anyone please let me know about any good ECs that I can do before I go to College/Flight School. My grades right now are pretty good and I am maintaing a 3.7-3.8 GPA. Also, if possibile, can you please let me know what path you tookt o become a pilot? I would greatly appreciate any help or info. Thank you very much.

Cory,

Honestly I wouldn’t worry too much about the ECs. Doing well in HS (and college after) is far more important than any little notes on your resume. A strong GPA is better than a “pretty good one”.

Check out our profile pages to see the various paths we’ve taken.

Adam

1 Like

Thanks for the help/reply. I will be sure to focus more on my grades. What do you reccomend by first steps should be towards getting a private pilots license. Is there anything important I should do during High School to improve my chances? Also, what do you think is a strong GPA? Thank you very much for the help. I appreciate you taking the time to answer my questions.

Cory,

Again my recommendation is to focus on your studies. What you can do is get that GPA up to a 4.0. Once for done with your education THEN start your pilot training.

Adam

Thank you! I will make sure to follow that recommendation. To stand out, should I take more advanced courses? I was thinking of taking 4 AP Courses next year but I don’t think I can keep my GPA too high (probably can keep 3.8-3.9) while taking those courses. Do you think colleges would look at GPA or the difficulty of courses more and If they look at GPA more, should I just take easier classes? Thank you for your response.

Cory,