Financing and GI bill help - Housing Allowance

Hey everyone! I’m currently an active-duty soldier with a dream to fly and ATP is looking like a very serious option. I’ve looked through many questions and testimonies on this forum. My biggest fear through the program would be not making enough money from the loan’s stipend for things such as my vehicle and other financial duties without out heavily hurting my savings accounts. I understand in a perfect world I wouldn’t need to touch my savings account and I’m absolutely ready to sacrifice, I’m just trying to explore my options as thoroughly as possible with others who are well educated on the matter.
I guess my actual question that stems from that is about the GI bill. From what I’ve read I cannot receive a housing allowance from the Post 9/11 while going through ATP since it is part 61, but I was wondering if it’s possible to use the Montgomery as it gets paid directly to you and could potentially be a saving grace of sorts. Any knowledge on the matter is greatly appreciated !

Thanks all
Eric

I’d talk to the ATP finance dept and the military aviation group RTAG about that.

I traded in my 1yr old 2017 Silverado LTZ for a used base Chevy Cruise when I started training. Sacrifice builds character :sweat_smile:

Chris F

1 Like

Thanks for your reply, Chris! I certainly plan on reaching out, but I definitely agree with your sentiment!

Eric R

Eric,

My understanding is the only think you can use any GI bennies for is checkride exam fees.

The good news is with available Tuition Reimbursement and the bonuses being paid you’ll only be sacrificing for a very short time.

Adam

1 Like

Adam,

Thank you. I’m not sure if you’d be able to speak on this but would a part 141 experience where the timeline is similar seem smarter if I’m able to use my benefits from the military?

Eric

Eric,