Getting hired at Hawaiian

Aloha!!

I’m Leo, I’m from Brazil and I’m a pilot here in my country. I have been working as a cropduster for the last 9 years, before that I was a flight instructor for 2 years. So, I’m moving to Hawaii (Oahu) with my family (wonderful wife and a little princess) and my big dream is to work at Hawaiian airlines. I know that I need to get all FAA licenses also improve my English a lot (for real, my English is not good).

Dear, Adam. Could you help me with good places/schools where can I start to make this dream real? Can I do everything about licenses in Hawaii? What do you think that I need to do in this beginning?

I would be ready to start in Hawaiian airlines no matter what until i reach the cockpit, whether carrying suitcases or driving a truck, i need to be close to the planes because it will give me strength to achieve my goals.

Thank you so much and I’m sorry if I made mistakes writing in English and if I asked my question in the wrong place.

I am very excited to have found this forum with so many good professionals.

Leo

Leo,

I moved your post to its own thread because it really had nothing to do with the topic it was on.

So a few things. First to fly as a Commercial pilot in the US you have to be a citizen or have Permanent Resident status. So that’s a box you’ll need to check. Second, as you state you need to convert your licenses (you don’t say what you have but I’ll assume you’ve got your Commercial and your CFI. Hopefully you have your Instrument and MultiEngine?). If not you’ll need both but basically you’re going to need to get to the FAA ATP mins and then get a job flying a jet to gain some experience (there’s Aloha Cargo or you’ll need to go to the mainland and fly for a Regional). While Hawaiian hires plenty of people in other capacities, that won’t help you get hired as a pilot.

Adam

Adam, thank you so much for moved this post and for your attention.