Getting started, when to apply for financing, loan approval advice

Hi!

My name is Luis Ibarra Jr., and I am a sophomore in college attending Kennesaw State University (please feel free to read my bio). I will graduate from college in Fall 2024, and would love to begin flight training in January 2025!!

My only concern is loan approval, as I am unsure if I would be approved or not. Is there a minimum credit score required? I would likely be approved with the help of my parents’ consigning, but I am worried that I might mess up their retirement. Would this be true if they cosigned on my loan?

My next question would be when would be the best time to apply for financing if I plan on starting in January 2025. Also, if I already took my introductory flight in fall 2021, would I have to redo it given it has been a significant amount of time?

Thank you so much for reading and input! I can’t wait to be an ATP student :slight_smile:

Luis,

I believe the usual lead time to apply for loans is 6-9mos out. While you could apply earlier, in all likelihood the approval would expire and you’d need to reapply.

As for messing up their retirement, the only way you’d do that is if you shirk YOUR responsibility to pay it in which case they will go after your parents. If you care about them you won’t let that happen.

As for the Intro Flight you’d have to check with ATP admin.

Adam

1 Like

Luis,

For any questions regarding applications or loans, we typically recommend reaching out to Kirk at ATP Finance Department via phone 904-595-7946, as he would be able to provide you the best response as things change over time.