Helicopter Pilot going to the Airlines?

Hello Everyone,

First-thank you for all the questions and information posted on this site, specifically by the mentors, its been very helpful.

I am a 30-year-old helicopter pilot. I have been very focused on my helicopter career for the last 5 years and for many reasons am now considering a career in the airlines. I currently hold ATP, CFI/I Helicopter, Private/Instrument ASEL, and have a Bachelor’s Degree. I have about 1,600 hours tt of which 200 is ASEL. I am currently flying the EC-130 and AS-350 helicopters for a 135 operator and have found a school nearby and am going through the process of enrolling in there multi-engine commercial course.

I’ve seen a couple of threads with similar subjects, however all my time is civilian. It would be my goal to get on with Skywest. I understand you only need 250 f/w hours per their website, however would I be at all competitive with a resume consisting of so much helicopter time? Any other advice and insight would be much appreciated.

Thank you.
Scott

Hi Scott,

Short answer Heck yea! The Regionals need qualified pilots and as long as you meet the requirements and have a clean record you should have no problem getting hired. But don’t listen to me, I’d give SkyWest a call and talk to a recruiter. They’ll tell you exactly what they want and I wouldn’t be surprised if they invite you for an interview already. Besides, fixed wing is ALOT easier than those scary things you’re flying now :slight_smile:

Adam

4 Likes

Scott,

I think you will be very competitive for a job with a regional, but like Adam said, call the airlines directly to find out.

Chris

Thank you both for the reply and all the information! I’ll give them a call. Appreciate the insight.

Scott

Hey Scott,