I'm 23, and I'm lost

Hi there,

My name is Tyler, and I’m pretty new to this site. I’ve been able to read through some posts; and I just wanted to share my perspective to see where I would fit.

I currently work as a supervisor right now making about 40k a year at a call center. I have been working in the financial/customer service industry since I was 16. My life is a bit complicated to say the least. When I was 17, I was approached by the air force for a fast track into pilot school after receiving my ASVAB scores. However, I was hurt in a car crash that causes temporary nerve damage (I used to not feel anything in the back of my head, and my nerves healed back together in a fun way the first few years (I was able to feel my chin if I touched the back of my head)). The air force did not pursue me after my car crash, since I had no feeling in my head, they had some type of reason involving the use of a helmet (didn’t make too much sense to me at the time).

I currently have no more than 5,000 in debt with a car payment every month and rent, so I am not locked into a 30 yr mortgage, or anything that serious. I have paid for my schooling out of my own pocket to obtain a Paramedic Certification after 2 years of schooling.

I am at a cross roads in life where, I can either get into my family business, and potentially make 6 figures with a stressful life, or invest into my dream. I just want to know what route is best for me. The questions I have are:
What is the best route for me to become a pilot?
What type of time frame/money invested am I looking at?
Is the industry a good thing for a man in his early to mid 20s to invest in?
Job Stability?

I know I’m asking a lot, but I stumbled across this website, and it’s just overwhelming to have options in my life again.

Thank you!

1 Like

Just to add some extra data into the mix:

I am not married, however I am with a long time girlfriend who is currently becoming a doctor, and about to transfer to medical school