International Student Looking for Advice

Hi, I’m an international student from Sweden currently in the United States studying in a really good private high school. I will graduate this summer and I have many questions regarding my next steps to becoming an airline pilot. My ultimate goal is to work for a US Airline however if that’s possible is another question. I have talked to several people in universities and flight schools and they say it is possible however there is a very slim chance and I don’t know if I want to take that risk. On the other hand, I have a really strong feeling that everything will work out and this feeling is tempting. What I’m planning on doing is going the university route however I have heard that this route is bad since it is expensive and an aviation degree is useless. Also, I don’t want to waste 4 years of my life studying and graduating when I’m 22 when I could have been in Europe working at 21 or 22 years old. My other options are doing my licenses and ratings in the US and converting them to EASA or just studying totally in Europe however that will now be a little bit hard since I have a US high school diploma

Does anyone have any good advice for me?

I hope my questions were clear enough.

Best,
Armin

A college degree is still preferred at airlines and is a good thing to have in your back pocket just in case. You do not need an aviation degree. Just a four year degree in whatever interests you.

Armin,

The first question is are you a US citizen or have Permanent Resident status. You’ll need to be one or the other to fly for a US airline.

Second if you want to fly in the US you should train in the US. If you want to fly in Europe you should train there. The certification process and training requirements are very different and aren’t easily transferred.

Finally while not required, you will want a 4yr degree of you really want to be successful in aviation.

Adam

Armin,