Looking for career change with a couple questions

Hi all,
My name is Ryan. I’ve been a Wildland Firefighter for the past 8 years mostly working around the helicopter side of aviation. I turn 40 later this year so I’m a little hesitant to pull the trigger on the switch to become a pilot. Financing has horrible rates right now and I’m worried about being able to pay it back once the training is over. My rates vary between 13.0% and 16.0% based on fixed/variable and interest only/deferred payments and that with great credit.

I guess question #1 is: Is the current outlook looking positive for hiring CFI’s (assuming I graduate the program and ATP would hire me) at a pay scale to at least keep my head above water until 2, 3, 4 yrs down the line when I qualify and hopefully make the regionals?

Question #2: Will the lack of effort and subsequent grades in college be a disqualifier for admissions and career advancement?
I wasn’t a great student in college when I graduated 15 years ago. I graduated with a 2.5 GPA as I was more interested in a social life than studying. In high school I was an 3.75 GPA A/B student that never had to study. I’ve grown a lot through life experiences and have finally learned to actually put in the time and effort to study. I’ve passed the FAA knowledge tests for PAR/IRA/FII. Working on Commercial right now.

Question #3: Do people go through this program and do something other than airlines? Such as a tanker pilot on wildfires?

Ryan,

1. While things have slowed a little the outlook is still positive for the future (obviously no guarantees). Do well in the program and ATP will offer you an instructor position. Keep in mind the location is not guaranteed which might mean relocating for it. As for “keeping your head above water” we have no idea what your expenses are so there’s no way of knowing. The average ATP instructor earns about $30k.