My ATP Experience as a 40 Year Old

I started the ATP program on June 5th and lasted five weeks before deciding it wasn’t for me. This is a review of my time at the Mesa Gateway location. I hope it helps you decide if ATP is right for you.

About me: I’m 40 years old and this was to be a second career for me after being a public school teacher for 16 years. I have a master’s degree in education from a large state university. I have a wife and kids, and we own our house here in the Phoenix area - about 30 miles from the facility at the Mesa-Gateway airport. My wife is also a teacher so her income isn’t enough to support a family. I took out a loan with Sallie Mae including extra money for living expenses. I passed the PPL written exam before starting. ATP encourages students to get the written tests done before starting but there’s time built into the program for the tests. It might be easier for some to do them ahead of time, but I found it difficult to study for the PPL exam without any context and studying with the Sporty’s app took a long time. Your results may vary.