Poor Driving History

Hi All,

Thank you in advance for taking some time to read my post, I really appreciate it.

Although I have MANY questions, concerns, comments, etc., I want to keep this fairly short in order to save everyone’s time! I graduated from ASU in 2016 and immediately went to work in software sales. I quickly realized that IT/the tech industry was not where I wanted to be for the rest of my career. I have been highly considering flight school and aviation in general for a little over two years now. The majority of my time has been spent trying to figure out the finance side of the house and how I would make it work. I believe I have finally formulated a plan as to how I will overcome that hurdle which has really put me in a spot where I want to go for it.

My main goal is to make it to a major airline within 10 - 12 years. Just from reading a lot of the other posts and talking to other ATP students/current pilots, this no easy task. I am up for it. Here is my concern, when I was 18 years old, my drivers license was suspended. I had accrued too many points on my driving record under the age of 18 (with the last ticket being 1 week away from my 18th birthday), which lead to my license being suspended. These were all speeding related violations, I have never had a DUI. I have only had one other speeding ticket over the age of 18, and this occurred when I was 22; I am 26 now. I realize how silly I was for speeding and for not learning my lesson after the first ticket. I have definitely slowed down and fixed the problem. Will my driving history, especially the suspension, prevent me from being hired by a regional or major airline? I am ready to incur the debt, put in the work and make this lifestyle change, but I can’t say I would make the plunge if my chances are shot because of my mistakes.

Again, I really appreciate everyone’s time and input!

• Grant

Grant,