PPL/Start Time

Hello all,

I have been considering ATP on and off for about five years now. I feel it is finally time to pull the trigger and begin the program. Currently I have just under 60 hours towards my private, and should have a check ride in mid to late January. My goal is to start the program just before the end of February. I am currently having issues with work and my current flights in terms of scheduling lessons in order to do the check ride. Would it be better to stick with my current flight school to finish my private then transition to ATP, or do a private finish up program at ATP having to learn a new airframe with a Piper as I currently fly a 172? Thanks in advance!

Raegan,

Welcome welcome, from the sounds from my perspective, you’re just there for your checkride at your current school. To start at ATP with Credit Private, you need 78 hours flight time. This is the amount of hours our private applicants will have generally by the end of their checkride, which keeps them on target for the program outline. At my training center, we have an individual who started without the hours, but got approval to fly the hours needed to “officially start” the program with an instructor (this cost is not factored in as the tuition for “Credit Private”), also gained an advantage to get PIC XC time. This really has given him an opportunity to learn our aircraft and advantage since they had never flown a G1000, only six pack standard instruments.

I suggest sticking with your private at your current school, really do well on that checkride since you seem in the ballpark of being endorsed(?)…then join up with ATP at the hours you’re at, talking to admin about getting the remainder of the 78 hour minimum “Credit Private” with ATP and get an advantage getting time in the Piper Archer G500/G1000 variant that your training location will fly.

Brady

1 Like

Raegan,