Pursuing Pilot Career

Good Morning,

To whom it may concern my name is Tom. A little about myself, I am an Air Force Veteran with no flight experience. I did security and Law Enforcement in the military and eventually left the service with a honorable discharge and became a Police Officer. As of now I am 27 and considering becoming a commercial pilot. Last year I was arrested for DWI. After about two months the charges were dropped and expunged for several reasons. I have documentation that the arrest should have never occurred and it’s been a nightmare and a blessing in several ways. Today I do not drink and I am in a great head space. I believe I can complete flight school and i’m confident in my abilities. Question one do I have to mention the arrest on the FAA Medical Certificate even if it was expunged and will I be able to get past the medical evaluation with a DWI arrest ? Second question, if I do complete flight school is there any hope of myself getting a job ? Essentially, before I start this journey I want to know if I would be setting myself up for failure to start. Thank you for reading my post and I appreciate any advice.

Thank you!

Tom,

The question on the FAA application is “have you ever been arrested?” and you have so the answer is obvious. The FAA will do their own investigation and make a determination based on that.

As for getting hired the key is remaining squeaky clean and putting some time between yourself and the arrest.

Adam

Tom,

In the MedXpress application for acquiring a FAA Medical Certificate, you will have to answer the following questions:

Based on what you said on the forum, your selection is going to be one of the two, Yes.

Brady

I’ve been on this forum for a few months and this has to be almost as common of a question as the age question.

To the FAA, there’s no such thing as dismissed, expunged, sealed, flew away on the magic carpet, etc. Theyre the feds and they see it all and know it all.