Regional airline

Hello! I am new to the aviation world but I just went on my admissions flight this morning at ATP and loved it! I have been doing a ton of research and speaking with a few pilots in the airline profession. I am interested in hearing pilots’ experiences with regional airlines. Likes/dislikes, schedule and salary when you first start vs when you have been there over a year, travel benefits for yourself and spouse/family members, and any other information you think would help. Thank you!
-Nancy

Nancy,

While I’m very happy at my Major, I did enjoy my time at the Regionals. Best part was we flew EVERYWHERE! The entire contiguous US, Canada, Mexico and the Caribbean. It was a great experience.

Thing is back in the day Regional pay was very low and there was a huge disparity between the different airlines. Due to the pilot shortage the weaker of the Regionals were forced out and I think you’ll find most are fairly competitive which each other pay and work rule wise. The biggest consideration for most people is who’s got a base where so they don’t need to commute and whether or not they have a pathway to the Major of your choice.

With that all said you’ve got a good couple of years before this is a consideration and things can and do change. Right now you need to learn to fly and Id be much more concerned with working on my written exams.

Adam

1 Like

Hey Nancy,