Religious

Hi I am 19 years old, and i am getting married this year. I wanted to know, out of the month, how many night are you as a pilot able to be at home? Also in regards to scheduling, being a religious Jew requires me not to work on Friday and Saturday due to the observance of the sabbath how do I approach this career with that being said?

1 Like

Moshe,

As a pilot I am gone roughly 12- 14 nights per month, usually broken up into 3 nights per week.

As for observing a religious schedule, Trans World Airlines v. Hardison established that offering special considerations to union employees because of religious concerns would abrogate the seniority rights of those not practicing that faith and was thus forbidden. Meaning, if you want to be an airline pilot you will have to be able to work 365 days per year and 24/7.

Also, you will need to be groomed to uniform standards, including no facial hair or payot.

Chris

2 Likes

Moshe,

On a positive note I’ve never had any problem getting Yom Kippur or Rosh Hashanah off. Much easier than Christmas or Easter :slight_smile:

Adam

1 Like

how about shabbat, and all the other festivals that we have during the year?

Moshe,

The reality is, as with EVERYTHING at the airline,s it’s all a matter of seniority. Once you gain some you can pretty much get anything you want, need or desire. Unfortunately as Chris explained, there are no “religious” exceptions or priorities given to anyone. All I was saying is since Jews are a minority at the airlines, what we need rarely aligns with everyone else (like Christmas) so more times than not I’ve been able to get the days to observe. But there are no guarantees.

Adam

I understand that. However, the fine lines of the law states as follows:
Supreme Court in Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison
http://laws.findlaw.com/us/432/63.html decides its first Title VII
religious discrimination case. The Court states that under Title VII