Should I join the Civil Air Patrol?

Hi all, I’m currently a sophomore in High School and I am wondering if I should join the Civil Air Patrol. Somebody online recommended it saying it would look good on my recruiting resume, but I wanted to also get some opinions from some of you guys. So what do you think? If I shouldn’t join it, is there anything I should join?

Thank you for your time

• Dillon

I think I should add I don’t entirely know what the civil air does, and that I might go into the US Air Force reserves.

Dillon,

The CAP is basically the Boy Scouts with airplanes! Seriously it’s a great organization and it’s a great opportunity for someone who’s interested in aviation, the AirForce or both. Lots of fun events, opportunities to fly for free AND yes it would look great on your resume!

I suggest you find your local chapter, attend a few meetings and see if you like.

Adam

1 Like

Dillon,

I would suggest attending a few meetings. If you like it, join. If you do not, then don’t. Being a member will not do anything to further an airline career. I have no idea how it relates to an Air Force career, but I would doubt there is much of any correlation between the two.

Chris

Dillon,

If you do serve in the CAP and go into the AF (and attend college first), you’ll automatically enter at a higher rank and paygrade which is nice.

As for your flying career, I respectfully disagree with Chris (he’s just cranky) and stand by my answer that it’s a good resume builder. Why? Because if nothing else it substantiates you when your say “Ive been interested in aviation and have wanted to fly for many years” vs the droves of newbies who couldn’t decide on a career, saw an ad or story on TV about how they could be a pilot and make big money so they dove in for lack of other option just to get hired and bother me!

Adam

Adam brings up a good point here, I will give him this one.