Skipping Regional Due to Beard

Hello - Hope you guys are well. This is my first post on here, so forgive me if this has been addressed before.

I’m an aspiring pilot and my dream is to fly for the major airlines one day. I’m aware most airlines in the US do not allow beards but after doing some research and reaching out to some airlines, I found that there are some major airlines that do allow beards (Allegiant, JetBlue etc.). Part 135 operators that I contacted also allow beards, however none of the regionals that I researched or contacted allow any beards. Unfortunately for me, shaving off my beard wouldn’t be an option at the moment since my religion requires me to keep one.

So my question was, would it be possible to go through all my ratings with a flight school that allows beards and then build up the necessary turbine hours required by the major airlines at a part 135 operator and then get hired by a major (such as Allegiant)? This route avoids the regionals since they do not allow beards. Do major airlines consider hiring pilots who meet their requirements but have no regional airline experience? From your experiences/knowledge would this be possible?

Any other tips or guidance you may have for me would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Hass,

Yes it’s possible although you’d be foregoing all the benefit programs, reimbursements and bonuses now being offered by the Regionals. You’d also be severely limiting your options.

Keep in mind that even the few Majors that do allow beards require they be short and very “neatly trimmed”.

Adam

1 Like

I thought ATP also required you to be clean shaven? Is this inaccurate?

You are correct, ATP does not allow beards. But he specifically asks, “would it be possible to go through all my ratings with a flight school that allows beards” and I’m quite certain he can and there are.

Adam

2 Likes

Haas,