Starting ATP during a pandemic

Hi all,

I’m graduating college in May, and was planning on starting flight school (most likely at ATP) this summer. Under these current circumstances, I’m curious how it is affecting enrollment and the timeline of the airline pilot career program. I’ve been eyeing the IWA location but am open to other locations if it means I can still start everything this summer (June or July).

For the record, I have no flight experience but have a first class medical, and am taking Sporty’s online PPL ground school in the meantime. I appreciate the response(s) in advance!

Sam

Sam,

I suggest you contact ATP as the current situation is very dynamic and I’m not certain they have new start dates at this time? That said once you get started I believe the time line will keep you relatively if not exactly on track.

Adam

2 Likes

Sam,

Chris and Ashley hosted a webinar about this subject earlier today. Visit ATP Flight School’s Facebook page > Videos > Ride Report: Long Term Career Outlook

https://www.facebook.com/atpflightschool/videos/220947502463211/

Tory

2 Likes

Hi Sam,

I’ve been thinking about starting ATP for awhile now, and I’m also in the process of applying to the Mesa location. I’m not a total greenhorn to aviation, in that I got a bachelors in software engineering and worked on certification of Boeing 787 software. Pretty cool to work on planes, but doing so from the cubicle life just wasn’t for me. I have started reading up on the books to fill in the gaps on my existing knowledge, and have my appointment to get my first class medical next week. I am still trying to work out the financing piece.