6 Months Program

Hello Pilots and Students,

I hope everyone is well and safe. I am writing this post today to get some advice. I have been working on my Private pilots license since a few months but am currently at home due to lockdown. I aim to finish my lessons and take my check ride soon after this is over and then transfer to ATP’s 6 month program. I am currently 21 and will graduate in Fall of 2020 and am available 7 days a week due to online classes.

I want to ask if the 6 month program would be faster than 2 years ? Also does anyone believe that most of these programs would stick around later for example United Aviate? Also does ATP partner with any corporate jet companies ? United airlines has always been my dream due to many reasons. I know as of now no can one can be sure of anything but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

So the program is actually about 9 months. If you’re planning on trying for 6, you’re going to be flying every day, at least once a day. Right now is tough because a lot of examiners aren’t doing checkrides. Also, CFI academy is on hold, and the longer that goes the longer the backlog gets. I wouldn’t plan on taking less than at least 7 or 8 months.

Kevin,

You’re correct the program is 6mos with credit for your PPL (keep in mind you also need at least 78hrs flight time). I’m going to assume you mean shorter than 2yrs to complete the training AND build the 1500hrs as it’s not really clear how you say it? If that’s the case yes you could possibly get there in less than 2yrs (16mos x75= 1250 + the 250 from training would be 22mos).

As for the airline programs like Aviate etc the airlines have much greater concerns right now than cadet programs. Cash is the concern not staffing. Short answer is only time will tell. ATP has agreements with virtually every Regional in the country as well as some corporate partners. If your goal however is to fly for United, Regional flying is your best route.