Attending weddings as an ATP student

Hi, Everyone.

Excited to start ATP in July but a little worried because I will have a few weddings to attend out-of-state during the time I’ll be in training. At least two and maybe three weddings. Is it possible to guarantee a weekend off here and there or will I need to be ready to fly every weekend no matter what? What about once I’m an instructor (should I be so lucky)? Can anyone shed some light in this for me?

I understand ATP is a full-time commitment and that sacrifices must be made, but I didn’t know if there was any leeway for these kinds of life events.

Thanks in advance for your insight.

-Noah

Hi Noah,

Unfortunately, we do not guarantee every weekend off if you are enrolled in the Fast Track Program, so you will want to be prepared to fly. As far as the weddings and specific time off, I would highly recommend putting in those requests on your student extranet once you secure a start date with us. If we see the request early on, we are more likely to be able to accommodate and approve the specific time off.

Hope this helps!

Addison

Noah,

Not sure you do understand ATP is a full time commitment? While they understand people have lives your training really needs to be your top priority. Training is planned out and as Addison said with advanced notice you may be able to block some days. That said if a checkride need to be rescheduled and it’s on the same day as a friend’s wedding, I’d think long and hard about which would be a priority.

Further this won’t end with your training. As a new FO you’ll be missing many many weddings, holidays, and family events. That’s one of the downsides of the job but it is part of the job.

Adam

Thank you both for the replies.

-Noah

Noah,