Criminal Background Issues

Hey Guys,

My coworker has been looking over my shoulder the last few months while I’ve on here and wanted me to ask a question for her.

Last year she got a high rate of speed speeding ticket (Clocked at 85 in a 55 but the Trooper estimated she made it up to 110 before she started stopping). Because of the length of distance covered and the presumed speed the Trooper wrote her up for Fleeing (which in Pennsylvania is a Misdemeanor) as well. I told her DUI/DWI were issues but couldn’t answer that one and figured I would come to the pros with it.

Have a great night.

Hi Tom,

I’m no legal expert but it sounds strange to me that “fleeing” would be a misdemeanor. The airlines will ask for copies of your Motor Vehicle records when you interview. From my experience they’re generally somewhat forgiving when it comes to driving and traffic infractions, within reason. Again I’m no expert but if that’s the only issue there I believe she’d be fine BUT if there’s a history there prior or more offenses after she might have a problem.

Adam

I thought the EXACT same thing when I heard her charge. Sometimes I’d like to meet the people that come up with the grading of some of these charges. Thanks for the help!

Tom,

As Adam pointed out, the airlines can be forgiving of traffic violations, but a misdemeanor is a criminal charge, not a traffic violation. If your friend has a misdemeanor criminal conviction that could make her unable to be hired by the airlines, especially since it is so recent of a conviction. The problem with criminal convictions is two fold. To begin with it simply does not look good for an airline to entrust people’s lives to somebody with a criminal record. The second issue is that Canada will not allow people with criminal records to enter the country, which of course is a huge problem as almost all of the airlines fly into Canada.