Do I need precalculus and what’s the difference between university and flight school?

Hi I’m a junior in high school and I’m questioning if I need precalculus to be able to be a airline pilot. The university I’m looking at requires it but I’m wondering if there is a different option. Is flight school or university flight school the better option?

Brianna,

For the life of me I don’t know why the university would require pre-calc (or any other advanced math). While I studied calculus a million years ago, as someone who’s been flying longer than you’ve been alive, I’ve never used or needed it.

With that in mind we’re not fans of aviation degree programs. The airlines neither require or desire them and they offer no backup should flying not work out for any reason. You’re far better off getting a degree in something you enjoy or might use and doing your flight training independently in a professional career program that’s designed to do that. You’ll also save a ton of money.

Adam

Don’t I need a bachelors degree to become a pilot a degree in aviation?

Brianna,

This is one of our most frequently asked questions. The short answer is no. But that comes with a caveat.

The Regionals don’t not care if you have a degree or not so there you definitely don’t need one. The Majors however are a different story. While no Majors actually require a 4yr degree, ALL list it as one of their “preferred” or “competitive” qualifications. This means that’s really what they want and prefer which means if it’s a choice between someone with a degree and someone without, they will always choose the person with first which is why we recommend one to make yourself as competitive as possible.

As for aviation degrees no airline requires or even desires one.

Adam

What type of degrees would they be looking for? Thank you for replying it’s really helpful!

Brianna,