DPE shortages and AGE

It seems that I’ve been missing those posts and conversations. Where can I find them or can someone fill me in as they relate to age!!?? Or did I misunderstand. Thank you!

In short ATP has been forced to extend the length of the Career Pilot Program (6mos w/PPL Credit, 9mos w/o) due to the shortage of DPE’s. No relation to age other than you’ll be a few months older when you’re done?

Adam

PPLs?

Private Pilot License

What are DPEs? Sorry, I’m new at this! That’s like wow!!! 9 months??? Why?

Designated Pilot Examiner. They are the ones that oversee your checkrides. And 9 months because of the shortage of examiners ATP has extended the timeline to compensate for students waiting for checkrides. Not to say you can’t find an instructor not overwhelmed in your area and you continue the old path of 180 days. Not gonna be easy for those stars to align but it’s still possible and the 9 months is just an estimate from ATP could be less depending on the area

I really don’t think that nine months is much time at all. Think about, you are learning to fly an airplane, carrying other people, in all sorts of weather conditions. The fact that pilots can successfully learn to fly in such a short amount of time is rather impressive to me.

1 Like

So it isn’t a necessarily a change just a possible waiting period!!?? So would it be helpful to get your private pilot done before you start The program or not really??

Kimberly,

It is a change of time frame. The program has been extended by three months, but there is a possibility that some students will complete it faster. I would not recommend getting your private done before starting as that will take much longer than nine months at just about any school other than ATP.

Kimberly,