FAA medical deferral

Hi forum friends,

I know there are multiple threads here about medical clearance information and the FAA. I was hoping to hear what any of you have to say about my case.

I am new to this industry and very intrigued to learn more. Unfortunately, I had DUI incident back in 2020 with a BAC of .08. I am 23 years old I made a mistake and I’ve learned from it since. I understand this is very fresh, but I do not drink anymore. I spoke to an AME at an accelerated flight school and she told me my application will be deferred. she gave me the requirements I needed for the FAA. I have gathered everything from a court deposition, driving record, to my personal statement. I did not do any AA program but I did do an alcohol eval which I will include in the package. I am looking to attend a part 61 school, obtain my PPL and work on my hours to fly for compensation.

From what I have read in these forums I understand I will most likely wait a long time. What can I do in the meantime to get ahead while I wait to hear back? Is there any reason to attend ground school now? Does anyone know if there is a high chance I will need to do the HIMS program?

thank you for your time and responses, any and everything is greatly appreciated. Hopefully this can help anyone else out there dealing with something similar.

Juan,

2020 is fairly recent, while you recognize your mistake and own up to it, it will follow you along in life. The good news is, we’re a few days from 2024, a new year, and cases like this can favor with time. It may take time, but with what comes with time is maturity and growth.