Female Pilot and tattoos?

I’m 32 and looking at training to become a pilot, I have no previous experience at all. I was told it might be easier to get on with a major airline once I have the hours and certifications because I’m a female, but I’m skeptical. Also, I have tattoos on my arms (from shoulder to my wrists, but they can be covered with a long sleeve shirt or jacket) which kept me from working as a flight attendant for Sky West, is that a problem for major airlines, do they have the same guidelines for their pilots?

The $85,000 cost to go to school scares me a bit so I want to make sure I’m not throwing money at something I can’t even use.

Hello Erin and Welcome!

Erin, Erin, Erin, where do we start? Ok first and foremost the cost should scare you if you’re entertaining something you have no experience with. I apologize if I sound curt but this is a big pet peeve of mine. I really can’t understand how people contemplate a life as a pilot with no experience at all flying. To me it’s like saying I’m going to take all my money and buy tofu which I’m going to live on for the rest of my life, I really hope I like tofu? Before anything else you need to go down to your local flight school (ATP has a great intro program if there’s one close) and GO FLY!. Fact is until you actually go up in a small plane you have no clue if it’s something you can and will want to do (which is why ATP won’t even take your money if you have zero time). Make sense? Good let’s move on.

It will not be “easier” to get to a Major airline once you have your hours and certifications, IT WILL BE POSSIBLE. You can’t even get an interview at any airline (Regional or Major) until you have the minimum required hours and certifications, regardless of your gender (believe it or not female pilots are quite common these days).