I’m apparently too tall for ATP? :/

Hey all, feeling a little disheartened here. I got my PPL in a c172 about 18 months ago or so, and despite doing some yoga to get into the airplane, I fit more than comfortably with headroom to spare. I’ve been saving for a couple years and was also approved for a Sallie Mae loan for ATP. Went out to the Sacramento location about 2 weeks ago for an intro flight and was beginning the process of leaving my job to attend ATP full time. I then received a voicemail asking for a callback from ATP. I was then notified that I was too tall for the aircraft and ATP wouldnt allow my admission. I’m 6’7” and about 220lbs. At the time, the instructor even said that another student was my height it maybe even a bit taller. I’m not sure what’s going on, but man, this really sucks. Is there anything I can do? Or am I SOL?

Peter,

ATP’s height and weight policies can be found here: https://atpflightschool.com/airline-career-pilot-program/enrollment.html

I sympathize with your situation, but these policies are due to aircraft limitations.

Chris

I assume this is due to the multi-engine Diamond, as I fit in a 172 just fine. It’s unfortunate that ATP doesn’t want business for those over 6’3” and I imagine there are many taller students in my position. Unfortunate, but I guess I’ll have to find another option.

Hey Peter, I just came across this thread and am in a similar position. I’m curious as to what you ended up doing

I’m supposed to be attending ATP in January but I am also 6’5. I am hoping everything works out okay as well.

Hey,

I ended up attending a different flight school and am nearing the end of my commercial multi engine training! The school I’m attending has both diamond DA42 and the Piper PA44, the latter of which I do my training in.

2 Likes