Private pilot cross country written

Hey all,
So I’m studying for my private pilot written exam, and Im having a very hard time understanding and grasping the cross countries “calculating the effects of the wind”. I actually don’t know where to being, I have the flight computer provided by ATP along with the plotter, however I’m just not understanding how to use it in problems. Any help or suggestions would be great thanks! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Earv,

The wind effects/corrections are fairly straight forward. Not sure what computer your using but the I’m sure it’s a version of the standard E6-B and you simply need to input the data. Could you be more specific?

Adam

This short video helped me ALOT when I was in your shoes and confused. Watch a few times and then do the calculations over and over on ones you know so you get a feel for it. Also there is an electronic one you can use on the test offered by sportys that I used and it is allowed on the test. It is whatever your comfortable with but watch youtube videos to find one that clicks with your mind and I promise once you click it will be easy.

1 Like

While I believe every pilot should be able to use the old school slide rule E6-B, electronic is acceptable and approved for use on all the FAA writtens. No need to invest in a stand alone computer, there are a TON of E6-B apps available for both iPhone and Android.

Adam

Although only the stand-alone will be permitted into the testing center to take the test. You will not be able to take your phone into the test with you.

Yarden

Good point Yarden. It’s been a while :slight_smile:

Adam