Question about mental health and pilot culture at ATP and in the airlines

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I’ve always appreciated that the information shared here is knowledgeable but also nonjudgmental, sincere and polite. I’ve been wanting to ask this question on here for a long time, and I apologize in advance for the length. This isn’t an easy question for me so please bear with me as I feel some background information is important.

I’m 41 years old. Flying for an airline has been my dream since I was a child, and one I am still trying to achieve. I graduated with my bachelor’s degree in 2007, then spent five years saving to go to flight school. In 2012 I finally had enough money saved and began flight training at an academy that had an airline career pilot program (much smaller than ATP). I attained my PPL in late 2012, and my IR in spring 2013. Then things slowed down but I kept chipping away until I finally got my CPL in Spring 2014. My original plan and next step was to get multi and CFI ratings then begin time building.

However, everything came to a grinding halt after I received my CPL. I was so close to starting a career and had invested over $60K by that point, but I felt that I had to walk away from it all. So, what happened? The answer is a mental health crisis. During my training, I developed severe anxiety. At first I didn’t understand what was happening to me. All I knew was that I was experiencing something intensely painful. I felt consumed by shame, self-hate and a complete lack of belief in myself. These feelings eventually gave way to panic attacks, then obsessive and compulsive behaviors. These made it really difficult to fly. It got so bad around the time I got my CPL that I knew I couldn’t go on.