Social media question

Hi all.

Thank you for this excellent resource. I have a question pertaining to social media and airline hiring practices. I hope it’s not too specific to my situation to be of interest.

In evaluating an applicant’s employability, I know a pilot’s social media footprint will be subject to scrutiny. Does this extend beyond what we post personally to what people say about us? Someone I became acquainted with online years ago but have never met has led a smear campaign against me and has managed to get others to join in. The person leading the charge is not a troll and presents as a trustworthy professional, though their behavior rises to the level of stalking. I’ve been falsely accused of everything from lying to plagiarism to non physical abuse to harboring political views I don’t have.

I’d never claim to be a saint, but I have a bachelor’s and graduate degree from two top ten schools. I have good credit. I have never been arrested. I have an extensive social and professional network. However, let’s say I turn out to be good enough to be evaluated as a candidate at an airline. I’m worried that they might take these baseless accusations on social media into account when looking at my moral character. What do you think? Before it’s suggested, I have spoken to a lawyer about sending out some cease and desist letters but I’m not sure I want to risk inflaming the situation.

Anonymous for obvious reasons. Many kind thanks in advance.

Stuff like this is one of many reasons I keep an extremely low social media footprint. I havnt posted a photo of my face to the internet since high school; I only have like 100 close friends on fb and 25 close followers on insta, ha.

I recommend you Google your name, get all that “bad” information, and send a message to the webmasters requesting to remove it. Then ONCE it’s removed, there is a way to send a link to Google to remove outdated links. Do that.