Starting from “0” at the age of 30

Hi guys,

Thank you for this great resource.

My name is Fernando. I was born in Ecuador but moved to the US in 2010, and have been a US citizen for 5 years already.

I have an Associates Degree in Medical Assisting and I was wondering if this is something I could use instead of a Bachelors degree. If not, do you have any suggestions?
I know that some of the responses here say that a degree is not required, but at this point in my life I’m going big (not going home,) so I want to do the best I can to reach my goal, and one day become an airline pilot.

I’ve always been interested in the aviation industry but it seemed unreachable in the past due to various reasons, but now I feel that it is the right time even though I feel like I’m already late in the game since I’ll be turning 30 in the next couple of weeks. If any of you could tell me how I can get started, what to expect, what I should be prepared for in terms of commitment, money, etc, I’d appreciate it.

Currently I have a full time job and I’m wondering if I could go part time to dedicate some time to school. I live alone in NYC so it is hard to pay rent and go to school at the same time.

Please be as honest as you can and I’ll be forever grateful.

Fernando

1 Like

#following - Great question. I’m about to be in my mid-30’s trying to jump on the ATP train. Curious if age will be an issue though. Following to see what they say :wink:

Fernando,

I’m always honest. While there are the rare and occasional stories of someone who slipped through the cracks because they play golf with the COE’s nephew and got hired without a degree, if you aspire to fly for a Major airline and are just a regular guy like the rest of us, you will need a 4yr degree.