Choosing the best ATP location to train

I live in PA. Weather here changes quickly. With being a full time student, I don’t foresee any home time. Moving away for that time period, how did you decide which school was best for you? Cost and housing seems to be the same regardless of where you train. Did anyone find that the weather was an issue where you trained?

Shawn, training curriculum is standardized across all locations, so it really comes down to weather and personal preference. Florida is a good and busy location to train in, but summertime and early fall can get sketchy with afternoon thunderstorms and even some slightly stronger winds (see “Hurricane Dorian”). This summer has been particularly weird: we were getting thunderstorms as early as 10 am some days but those usually moved through quick. Arizona is nice and sunny, but gets a tiny bit warm in the summer time. Other locations have their own pluses and minuses. From weather to airspace specifics… The only tip that may help you is choosing a location that has a CFI school there. It may make it a bit easier not having to adapt to a new airport and airspace while doing some of the most complex training that you will undertake.

Shawn,

I simply picked the location that was most convenient for me, which was about four hours away from where I lived. I suggest you do the same, just pick one that is convenient.

Chris

From what I understand, your in school basically 7 days a week available 24/7. Is this correct? If it is correct, what was convenient for you staying closer to home if your at the school full time?

Shawn,